top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDaphnee Deleon

IS THE BRIDE ALWAYS RIGHT?


Conventional wisdom says, the bride is always right. Is that always the case? Are there times where the Bride is out of line? I hear a bunch of "Bridezilla" stories where the bride is unreasonable and irrational.


"The bride is always right, even if she's wrong."

It's your day

Lets be honest. We're all human. We make mistakes, make the wrong choices or have different opinions. However, when it comes to the bride and the groom, it’s your big day, what you say goes. There shouldn’t be someone telling you what you want unless you ask. It isn't cocky, irresponsible or a bridezilla kind of thing. Honestly, it’s your event. You only get one wedding, Lord willing. And it’s okay to want the event how you envisioned it. A lot of girls dream about weddings since they were little girls. As Monica said to Ross from friends,"Emily has probably been planning it since she was 5.... We dreamed about the perfect wedding. In the perfect place. With the perfect four-tiered wedding cake. With the little people on top. But the most important part is that we had the perfect guy who understood just how important all that other stuff was."


It's your dream

The Bride is always right. People told me that I wouldn’t want a long sleeve dress for my July wedding. Even when I went to bridal stores, some didn’t have any, or very few choices of long sleeved, because summer is coming and “who would want a long sleeve dress?"

I did. It was my dream. I heard people tell me, "You don't want that, you'll be too hot", but I didn’t care. However, I listened to the voices and tried on different dresses with heart shaped strapless and cap sleeves. As beautiful as they were, I didn't feel like a bride until I put on that long sleeve lace dress. And that is what I wanted. When the day came, the day was hot but I was able to wear my long sleeve dress. I felt like a bride and felt beautiful. And in the end, I wasn’t any hotter than the guests or the groomsmen who wore their vests.


The beauty of it all.

Most of the time, I find that the beauty is inside the eye of the beholder. Let’s just say that I don’t agree with the bride that two colors go together, I may not think that it looks good but she does. So what is my opinion? It’s nothing! The bride like these colors and that’s what she wants for her wedding. Why would I stand in the middle of that? If she asks, I will give my professional opinion. My job is to stand by you and be your girl. I am not against you, I am for you. If someone has a problem with your opinion or with a situation, I will handle it so that you don’t have to. I am your girl. After all... the bride is always right, even when she is wrong.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page